USHJA Seeking Nominations For Prestigious Awards


Press Release Date:  June 24, 2013

The USHJA is now accepting submissions for the 2013 season’s most prestigious awards; the Jane Marshall Dillon Award, the USHJA Lifetime Achievement Award, the USHJA Youth Leadership Award, USHJA nominee for the USEF Youth Sportsmanship Award, the USHJA Vital Staff Award, the Mrs. A.C Randolph Owners Legacy Award and the Amateur Sportsmanship Award.

The Lifetime Achievement award was first presented in 2008 to honor members who dedicated their lives to furthering the hunter/jumper discipline on a National platform and whose involvement in the sport and the USHJA has benefited the industry. The 2013 recipients will have their names added to the Eugene R. Mische Perpetual Trophy.

The Jane Marshall Dillon award was created in 2010 to recognize the dedication of equestrian teachers within the hunter/jumper discipline who have devoted their lives to instilling the values of horsemanship, integrity, and hard work in their students. The winner will have their name placed on the Jane Marshall Dillon Perpetual Trophy which resides in the USHJA headquarters in Lexington, KY.

The 2013 honorees for these prestigious awards will be recognized at the USHJA Annual Meeting, December 8-12, 2013 in Atlanta, GA.

All active USHJA members are encouraged to nominate for these prominent awards. Written nominations must include: the nominee’s name; the city and state of residence; supporting documentation of accomplishments and accolades; and any other information pertinent to their involvement in the horse industry. Nominators should also include their name, USHJA member number, mailing address and daytime telephone number so the USHJA may contact them for additional details. The nomination form can be downloaded from the USHJA website.

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement and Jane Marshall Dillon Awards must be received in the USHJA office by July 31, 2013. Please submit nominations via email to Marla Holt or mail them to 3870 Cigar Lane, Lexington, KY 40511. Questions concerning these awards may be directed to Marla Holt via email or call (859) 225-6710.

USHJA is also seeking applications for two awards that recognize youth members for their equestrian and horsemanship achievements. The USHJA Youth Leadership Award and USHJA nominee for the USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award identify potential future leaders in the equine industry who demonstrate an ongoing commitment and dedication to USHJA by promoting equestrian sport, exhibiting characteristics that exemplify positive sportsmanship principles and who serve as role models for their peers.

Nominees for the USHJA Youth Leadership Award must be between 12 and 15 years of age, while USHJA nominees for the USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award must be 17 years or younger.

The winner of the USHJA Youth Leadership Award will have their name added to the USHJA Youth Revere Bowl perpetual trophy and will receive a complimentary three-year USHJA Active Membership, a commemorative trophy and a RevitaVet Infrared Therapy System donated by RevitaVet. The USHJA nominee for the USEF Youth Sportsmanship Award will receive a $500 grant to be used for their equestrian training or education, and if they are chosen as the USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award recipient, they will receive a commemorative trophy, a $1,000 grant to be used for their equestrian training or education and a complimentary USEF Life membership. The recipient also becomes one of the nominees for the USEF Junior Equestrian of the Year Award. Both USHJA Youth winners also receive a new Charles Owen helmet.

The application deadline for USHJA Youth Leadership Award is September 25. The application deadline for USHJA nominee for USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award is October 1.

For more information or questions about the USHJA Youth Leadership Award and/or Nominees for the USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award contact Carrie Vaught at (859) 225-6703.

Additionally the USHJA is looking for nominations for the Vital Staff Support Award. This tribute is designed to honor the support staff of our sport, often working behind the scenes and essential to the success of your horse shows. People such as the announcers, starters, secretaries, technical coordinators, facility managers and their crews, ring crews and assistants of every type, who daily assist in moving our sport forward, are often overlooked and unacknowledged during awards season.

Nominations are open to the USHJA membership and will also be solicited from the USHJA Competition Management, Officials and Stewards Committees. Think of those individuals who have helped make your competition or educational experience a little easier and more enjoyable. Nominees do not need to be active members of the USHJA, but must have a minimum of 20 years actively working in our discipline in a support role. Nominations for the Vital Staff Support Award must be received by October 7 and can be done online using the Vital Staff Support Award Nomination form or contact Marla Holt via email or calling (859) 225-6710.

USHJA is now accepting nominees for the Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award , which was created to acknowledge a past or current owner who has been, or is, a true patron of the hunter/jumper industry. This award honors an owner who has created a legacy of giving back to the hunter/jumper sport through continuous dedication and support. Previous winners’ engraved on the Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Perpetual Trophy include Helen Lenahan and Harry Gill.

And last but certainly not least, do you know an amateur rider in your area worthy of the USHJA Amateur Sportsmanship Award? Someone who exhibits a high degree of excellence and integrity through support of their fellow competitors and/or volunteering time and resources to various aspects of the industry? Examples of this include serving on committees, providing sponsorships and promoting the welfare of the horse. Success in the show ring is a secondary factor. Nominations for the award may come from exhibitors, trainers, colleagues or peers. The 2013 recipient will have their name inscribed on the June Kaneti Amateur Sportsmanship Perpetual Trophy and receive a new helmet from Charles Owen the official helmet of the USHJA.

Nominations for the USHJA Amateur Sportsmanship Award and/or the Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award must be received by October 15.

For additional information on these awards please contact Melanie Fransen via email or call (859) 225-6705.