I hate horse tripping and nothing will ever convince me that it is a humane sport, or in any way fun or beneficial for the horses that are roped or tripped. I have heard many arguments both for and against horse tripping but have watched enough videos of these events to sicken my heart and stomach forever and remain dedicated to advocating for abolishing equine tripping in the entire United States.
Hats off to Utah for taking a small, but important step in making horse roping / tripping events illegal in Utah when it enacted H.B 261. The Utah Legislature has not made horse tripping illegal, but the state has changed the laws and reporting requirements for events, contests, and venues hosting horse roping or tripping events. It is important to understand these new requirements because violators can be fined up to $500 per offense — which can add up quickly. Additionally, the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food has made it clear they are collecting data now in hopes of discouraging horse tripping and eventually making it illegal:
“UDAF and the State Legislature take animal welfare and health very seriously, and want to better understand the impacts these events are having on horses. Information being gathered will allow UDAF and the State Agriculture Advisory board to make additional recommendations to the State Legislature regarding horse tripping regulations.
It should be noted that the overall public perception of these events is generally negative. UDAF would discourage any arena owner from holding a horse tripping event. It is through
education and awareness we hope horse tripping will no longer be practiced for sport here in Utah. For your better understanding, enclosed is a pamphlet with additional information on horse tripping.”
The New Regulations
In a nutshell, anyone holding horse roping or tripping contests or events — which includes the venues themselves, must report the event at least 30 days BEFORE the event and must also report certain information about the event within thirty days after it was held.
“Any event in which a horse is roped or tripped as part of the event or contest, must be
reported to UDAF at least 30 Days in advance of the event.
No later than 30 Days after the event where a horse was roped or tripped for an event or
contest the following items must be reported to UDAF:
1) The number of horse roping or tripping events or contests held.
2) The type of roping or tripping events.
3) The number of horses used.
4) How many horses were used in a horse tripping event and how many times each horse was tripped.
5) If a veterinarian was used during roping or tripping event to treat an injured horse. You must include the contact information of the veterinarian, the results of the examination, and all expenses incurred from the veterinarian.”
- UDAF Information on Horse Roping/Horse Tripping
- UDAF Letter Detailing New Horse Tripping Reporting Requirements
- What you need to know about horse tripping events – Brochure